CUT! HOW LOTTE REINIGER AND A PAIR OF SCISSORS REVOLUTIONIZED ANIMATION

4973
Countdown to the 96th Oscars:
Price: $18.99
Museum Member Price: $17.09

Cut!: How Lotte Reiniger and a Pair of Scissors Revolutionized Animation Hardcover – Picture Book, January 24, 2023 by C. E. Winters (Author), Matt Schu (Illustrator) Long before Walt Disney, a young woman revolutionized the landscape of animation using light, a pair of scissors, and her imagination. From acclaimed author C. E. Winters and debut illustrator Matt Schu, STEM meets the arts in this engaging nonfiction picture book biography about Lotte Reiniger. Cut! is an exceptional choice for classrooms and for fans of Hidden Figures, I Dissent, and the Questioneers books.

In the 1920s, when young women had limited opportunities, Lotte Reiniger used her curiosity and ingenuity to change the landscape of animation forever. Inspired by the films of her youth, and encouraged by teachers and mentors working in film at the time, Lotte Reiniger honed her skills in cutting out paper silhouettes to use in stop-motion animation.

Eventually, her talent and her drive led her to invent the multiplane camera, which allowed her to give her animation depth of field. With her small team, Lotte designed and directed the oldest full-length animated film in existence.

Acclaimed author C. E. Winters and debut artist Matt Schu expertly introduce young readers to Lotte Reiniger, a remarkable and often overshadowed historical figure. Balancing biographical information with a compelling story, Cut! follows Lotte Reiniger from childhood to her first groundbreaking accomplishments. Matt Schu’s dynamic illustrations draw inspiration from Reiniger’s own artistry and are full of detail, color, and light. Cut! is an excellent nonfiction picture book perfect for classrooms and family sharing.

Features extensive backmatter, including a timeline of Lotte Reiniger’s life, an author’s note, and sources.

About the Author
Matt Schu is the illustrator of Cut!: How Lotte Reiniger and a Pair of Scissors Revolutionized Animation, My Cat Does Ballet, The Islands of Elsewhere, and the forthcoming Cosmic Collisions: Asteroids vs. Comet (2024). He studied art and design at the University of Oregon and worked as a graphic designer and editorial illustrator before switching his focus to book illustration and fine art. Matt Schu lives in Portland, Oregon.

Product details
Publisher ‏ : ‎ Greenwillow Books (January 24, 2023)
Language ‏ : ‎ English
Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 40 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0063067390
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0063067394
Reading age ‏ : ‎ 4 - 8 years
Grade level ‏ : ‎ Preschool - 3
Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.02 pounds
Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 11.25 x 0.5 x 9 inches

WELCOME TO THE OFFICIAL HOME OF THE OSCARS

SIGN UP FOR FREE and receive 10% off your first order! Retail subscribers receive the most-updated information on product launches, restocks and sales!

BECOME A MUSEUM MEMBER for 10% off every day and 20% off during member appreciation days! Members automatically receive their discount online when checking out using the email address associated with your museum membership account. Some exceptions apply and membership discount does not apply to sale items already marked down.
Order by March 1 to receive before the 96th Oscars. Orders received after March 1 are not guaranteed to arrive in time for the show.

FREE DOMESTIC GROUND SHIPPING ON ALL ORDERS OVER $100!

All orders are shipped by USPS Ground.
Processing time (not included in the shipping time) for orders is 1–3 business days. These times may be extended during holidays and promotions. You will receive an email confirmation with a tracking number when your order has shipped.

Ground Flat Rate Shipping―$7.95 Applies to orders shipped in the contiguous 48 US States shipping time is 3–7 business days.
Extended Flat Rate Shipping to Hawaii, Alaska, and Puerto Rico - $22.95 - shipping time is 3–7 business days
International Flat Rate Shipping - $42.95(Includes Guam, American Samoa, and US Territories). International delivery time is 5–20 business days (not including time for customs and other import inspections). Shipping costs do not include taxes and import duties.
JUST IN CASE! - we accept exchanges and returns back to the original form of payment within 30 days of purchase with original proof of purchase and in original unworn condition with tags and packaging. All limited-edition and sale items or where items are noted in the product description are final - no exchanges no refund.

For online returns, please email us at academymuseumstore@oscars.org with your first name, last name, and order number so we can assist you.

Refunds will be returned back to the original form of payment and may take up to 7 days to process. Shipping and handling fees are non-refundable.

If you are in the Los Angeles area, online orders can be easily returned in-person at the store. Please bring with you the original order invoice that was included with your shipment. Don't worry, general admission tickets are not required to visit the Academy Museum Store!



Please note the measurements provided may have a variance of about an inch. The description on the detail page will also indicate the fabric content of the item.
We'd love to hear from you!

For customer service inquiries, please email academymuseumstore@oscars.org or call us at +1 323.930.3035. Our Customer Service team is available during store business hours. We do our best to respond to all customers within 48 hours. Response times may be extended during holidays and promotions. Inquiries are answered in the order they are received.

We are located at:
The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures
6067 Wilshire Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90036
United States

General Admission is not required to visit the Academy Museum Store and is open to the general public during our normal business hours.
The Academy Museum is open six days a week 10am-6pm, closed on Tuesday.
You have successfully subscribed!
This email has been registered